Life is a Balancing Act

Life is a Balancing Act

Sometimes life can feel like a balancing act. Scratch that, actually for most of the time, life is a balancing act. Trying to juggle social life with your job working towards a career goal (and that is only if you know what it is already). All whilst trying to ensure you’re making enough to afford rent and going out with your friends. You already have so many to aspects to juggle in your life but there are more you’re adding to this tower on a near daily basis. In this day and age where everything is fast paced and everyone relies on instant gratification; where we all live by a ‘time is money’ and ‘you snooze you lose’ mentality, you have to ensure you’re motivated at all times, but sometimes it’s just a bit difficult to stay positive when you’ve hit set-backs multiple times along the way.

You try to stack up all aspects of life and responsibilities neatly; you’re so close to finishing stacking this up and covering it all with positivity, but just sometimes, that cheeky little joker a.k.a ‘life’ pops along and wobbles your self-esteem. The cheeky little thing makes you doubt yourself and makes you doubt the already not-so-strong structure of life aspects and responsibilities you so carefully tried to balance.

I recently went through a terrible first interview for a role at a new company. I thoroughly prepared for it (it was a first interview so nothing too much to prepare), made sure I was on time (I was about 20 minutes early), had time to stop by a close coffee shop for a quick pick-me-up before entering. Even with preparation, nerves hit me hard during the first half of the interview, I managed to turn it around during the second half of the interview but I just knew it may not be enough to push me through to the second round. That night I kept replaying what happened during the interview, what I should have said, what I should n’t have said. It really made me doubt myself.

In hindsight, what I should’ve told myself instead is that, what’s done is done, there’s no point of worrying about what I can’t change; I can’t change what has already happened.

Patience, is a virtue, and this is very true indeed. All I could have done at this point was wait and hope for the best. I had to be patient and positive that no matter if I was called back for a 2nd interview or not, I would’ve learnt a lesson, and that in itself is invaluable.

Lo and behold (after dramatically describing the interview to my friends with cry face emoji and all) I received news today that they are happy to bring me back for a 2nd interview! I also have another 2nd interview next week. Seems like things are in place again (at least for now).

-The Girl in Black Frames

 

 

Leave a Reply

